The Great American Novel

Recently, my soul-sister Ms. Woo Woo posted a blog on the Great American Novel after she and I discussed what kind of American literature would fall into the category of the Great American Novel.  I struggled to articulate the types of novels that I’d lump into that category and then she asked me if I ever felt as though I was writing the Great American Novel and I said, yes.

My reply was based on the fact that the book I am writing has the right elements similar to that of the Grapes of Wrath, I hadn’t intended for that to be the case it just seems to be turning out that way. But I wasn’t indicating that I lump my work in with John Steinbeck, to my chagrin Ms. Woowoo blogged about our conversation the next day.

Today, I decided to link my blog to hers. My reason is that this will probably be the only time in my life that my work is lumped under the headline Great American Fiction, I thought I should bask at the rare opportunity:)

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction Writing, Minnesota Fiction, Writing

2 responses to “The Great American Novel

  1. woowooteacup

    You deserve to bask. Enjoy!

  2. Shoot! I miss read what you wrote. I thought it said I deserved a bath. Now, what to do with all these bubbles?

Leave a Reply

