Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander (Outlander, Book 1) Outlander by Diana Gabaldon


My review

rating: 5 of 5 stars
I was reluctant to download this audiobook, put off by time travel aspect which struck me as out of place in both historical and romantic fiction. There were also a number of reviews that were unkind but given the books overall rating I decided to give it a shot. I couldn’t put it down. I in fact added 2 miles on to my daily walk to listen longer.

The time travel isn’t distracting and doesn’t feel science fictionish which works given its weight as a work of romance /historical fiction. The story is an exceptional blend and the audiobook version is replete with beautiful Scotish accents that I could listen too forever. If you have an MP3 or iPod go for the download, breathing life into Jamie Fraiser’s Gaelic phrases is well worth the expense, I’ll carry him in my pocket for a very long time. I’m very much looking forward to the next book, given the number of volumes in this series I’ll gleefully be walking meself down to a size 2 by the end of autumn, aye.

View all my reviews.

Since I was impressed with Gabaldon’s research I’m posting a link to the question and answer section of her blog. I was very pleased to see that she writes out of order as do I, forward and back, forward and back. Whew! Also here is a podcast of an interview with Gabaldon as she explains how she constructs a battlefield scene. Battlefield

Leave a comment

Filed under Authors, Books

Leave a Reply

