Roasted Tomato Sauce

My garden is coming to the end of its season. This year I planted heirloom vegetables primarily organic with a couple of exceptions.  Potato’s stay in the ground for 2 weeks after a freeze so I’m waiting on them, my Vadallia’s and my Christmas Lima’s.  I’m watching the nighttime temperature drops and covering them if there’s a threat of frost.  My asparagus crowns are in their second year so I should be able to harvest about 15 lbs next year, also while I was walking my dog I discovered the same kind of asparagus growing wild along a fence line. Since the plants were taller than I am I’m certain they’re not being harvested and are most likely not even recognized as a vegetable given their size. Last but not least, my Roma Tomato’s …they’re taking over my kitchen!

I planted about 30 organic Roma Tomato plants, I’ve had an excellent first year harvest and I’ve decided to make a roasted tomato sauce to use in whatever. I like this recipe because of the roasting. If done slowly they will caramelize that enhances the flavor of the sauce which I have a marked preference for.

 Here’s that recipe:

20 Roma tomatoes, halved and seeded

1/4 C olive oil

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 tsp. pepper

1 C finely diced onion

2 tsp. Minced Garlic

1 tbs finely chopped fresh oregano leaves

1 tbs finely chopped fresh Thyme leaves

1 cup white wine

Preheat oven to 325

In pans place tomato halves cut side up, Sprinkle with oil, salt and pepper, onion, garlic, and herbs. Bake for 2 hours. Check tomatoes after 1 hour and turn down the heat if they seem to be cooking too fast. Then turn oven to 400 and bake another 30 minutes. Process through a food mill on medium dye setting over sauce pan, discard skins, add white wine and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and cook 5 minutes.

Bene!

Leave a comment

Filed under General, Life

Leave a Reply

