I Forgot to Tell You What A Nice Ass You Have…

The headlines echoed a scene from the film The American President when Annette Benning’s character Sidney Ellen Wade receives a phone call from the fictitious President of the United States, Andrew Shephard. Assuming the call is a hoax from a co-worker Wade plays along telling the President “I’m so glad you called because I forgot to tell you today what a nice ass you have…and I’m also impressed that you got my phone number given the fact that I don’t have a phone…”  Of course anyone who has seen the classic scene in the film knows that Sidney Ellen Wade was indeed addressing the President when she made the “nice ass” remark…just before she hung up on him.

In equal comedic fashion Congresswoman Ros-Lehtinen, determined to avoid being punked by area radio stations notorious for sucessfully duping everyone from Fidel Castro to Hugo Chavez, thought she was avoiding being the butt of someones joke. So when Ros-Lehtinen received a call from a man identifying himself as President Elect Obama, who congratulated her on her re-election, she demonstrated her keen instinct for identifying tom-foolery by telling him he was a better impersonator than the guy on Saturday Night Live and then she hung up.

In an effort to convince Ros-Lehtinen of the legitimacy of the phone call Obama’s Cheif of Staff Rahm Emanuel placed a subsequent call with Obama on the line to assure the congresswoman that it was no joke. Reportedly Ros-Lehtinen said, ‘I really do appreciate it. I love these pranks more than anybody and I’m honored that you would prank me, but I’m gonna hang up.’

It took a third phone call from chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee Rep. Howard Berman and even then Ros-Lehtinen requested that Berman disclose an inside joke about a colleague that wasn’t public information…so she could be sure.

According to Ros-Lehtinen, President-Elect Obama thought the experience would help keep his ego in check, should he get too pumped up he reportedly said that he thought his wife would remind him that the congresswoman hung up on him …twice.

Currently, Ros-Lehtinen is being dispatched to Alaska to coach Sarah Palin on side-stepping pranksters… the women are not expected to discuss anyones ass except perhaps the one associated with the DFL… 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Films, Humor, Politics

7 responses to “I Forgot to Tell You What A Nice Ass You Have…

  1. Pingback: Democratic America, Goverment and Election » I Forgot to Tell You What A Nice Ass You Have…

  2. That’s too funny! You know, I’ve never been interested in meeting a president before, but I’d really like to meet Obama. I don’t suppose that’s likely to ever happen, but I’d be thrilled if it did. I guess I’ll have to figure out how to do something so amazing that it would result in an invitation to the Whitehouse.

  3. Interesting choice Amy…I was invited to a press conference at the Whitehouse in…I think 2003…for the introduction of a bill. A friend and I put the bill together in Minnesota and it was redrafted in a number of other states then it was drafted as federal legislation. Ironic that you chose that example!

  4. Wow, that’s really cool. You’ve done a lot of interesting things, Jody. So did you go? What was it like? What was the legislation?

  5. A few interesting things… There was a hurricane hitting the east coast and they closed the Whitehouse…the conference was cancelled. It was very dissapointing but I was afraid they weren’t going to cancel and I certainly had reservations about flying into a hurricane.

  6. Bummer, but it does make for an interesting twist on the story. Hurricanes scare the heck out of me. No way would I want to fly into one!

  7. It was a balance between being so disappointed yet not wanting to fly with a hurricane moving in. I don’t think they’ve shut down congress since. It was exciting to be invited…the hurricane meant that I didn’t have to find the nerve to speak at the press conference…or figure out what I was going to say.

Leave a Reply

