Bloom Where You’re Planted

Author Claire Cook considers herself a late-bloomer having published her first novel in her mid-forties. I knew of Claire’s work because I read the second book she wrote, Must Love Dogs and then picked up a copy of every book that followed.

Years later I met Claire online on the Goodread.com website. Our conversation started after Claire visited my online journal and read some of my writing. At the time I had just written “I Forgot that Sunflower’s Die,” which was just a few lines that touched upon the death of my daughter’s father. Claire had also lost a parent as a child and she shared her story which had recently been published in Good Housekeeping magazine.

Since then Claire’s periodically sends a note cheering on my writing, and with each book she writes I’m reminded that it’s never to late to follow your heart.

Whether you find yourself writing at a child’s swim practice or in the humid, hum of a bustling laundry mat, remember to love what you have and to bloom where your planted.

Here is Claire Cook’s interview on the Today Show…well done, girl:)

well

4 Comments

Filed under Aging, Authors, Books, Fiction Writing, Films, Life, Writer's, Writing

4 responses to “Bloom Where You’re Planted

  1. Thanks for posting this, Jody! The video and everything you wrote was inspiring for me.

  2. It’s always fabulous to see someone who proves its possible. I think aspirations are nudges from God:)

  3. mgkizzia

    Inspirational; especially for those of us turning 39 yet again.

  4. Especially for those of us who just turned 48!!! Yikes!!!

Leave a Reply

